Types of Multiple Sclerosis

There are a few types of MS. I have been diagnosed with Relapse and Remitting Multiple Sclerosis.

For more info on MS,  check out the MS Society of Canada:


This info was taken from The Mayo Clinic web site which you can find here:



Multiple sclerosis (MS) is classified into four types, characterized by the disease’s progression.

  • Relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS). RRMS is characterized by relapse (attacks of symptom flare-ups) followed by remission (periods of recovery). Symptoms may vary from mild to severe, and relapses and remissions may last for days or months. More than 80 percent of people who have MS begin with relapsing-remitting cycles.
  • Secondary-progressive MS (SPMS). SPMS often develops in people who have relapsing-remitting MS. In SPMS, relapses and partial recoveries occur, but the disability doesn’t fade away between cycles. Instead, it progressively worsens until a steady progression of disability replaces the cycles of attacks.
  • Primary-progressive MS (PPMS). PPMS progresses slowly and steadily from its onset. There are no periods of remission and symptoms generally do not decrease in intensity. About 15 percent of people who have MS have PPMS.
  • Progressive-relapsing MS (PRMS). In this relatively rare type of MS, people experience both steadily worsening symptoms and attacks during periods of remission.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s